web analytics
Winter Itineraries Norway

Norway to Deny Entry to Russian Tourists Starting May 29

The Norwegian government has announced additional restrictions on the entry of Russian tourists traveling to Norway for tourism purposes. According to a statement published on the Norwegian government’s website, the new rules will come into effect on May 29.

“Citizens of Russia arriving in Norway for tourism and other non-essential purposes will be denied entry into Norway upon crossing the border. The tightening of the rules applies to Russian citizens who were issued visas by Norway before the rules were tightened in the spring of 2022, as well as those whose visas were issued by other Schengen Agreement countries. Exceptions will be made in some cases, such as for Russian citizens visiting close relatives (parents, legally registered spouses, de facto spouses, and children) residing in Norway, and for Russian citizens arriving in the country for work or study purposes in Norway or other Schengen Agreement countries,” the statement noted.

The statement also emphasized that Norwegian authorities are monitoring the situation at the “Storskog” border checkpoint with Russia and are prepared to take action if necessary.

This move comes amidst escalating tensions between Russia and Western countries, with Norway joining other nations in implementing measures in response to geopolitical developments.

For further updates and information, travelers are advised to consult official announcements from the Norwegian government.

Scroll to Top