web analytics

EU Countries Impose Stricter Entry Restrictions

Some European countries have updated the travel rules imposed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.


Denmark has updated the travel rules imposed due to the COVID-19 pandemic and has announced that entry measures will apply to unvaccinated travellers arriving from regions of France, Greece, Portugal, and Switzerland.

The following EU/Schengen regions have moved to Denmark’s yellow category:

  • France: Normandy, Grand Est, Pays de la Loire, Brittany, Nouvelle-Aquitaine, Auvergne- Rhône-Alpes
  • Greece: North Aegean
  • Portugal: Madeira
  • Switzerland: Geneva

When returning from yellow countries, travellers who have not been fully vaccinated or previously infected are required to have a test performed after entry.

Travellers from one of these regions mentioned above who have been vaccinated against the COVID-19 or recently recovered disease can enter Denmark without being subject to any of its entry restrictions. 


Lithuania has updated the travel rules imposed due to the COVID-19 pandemic and has announced that entry measures will apply to unvaccinated previously infected travellers arriving from Italy and France, they will be obliged to follow testing and quarantine rules upon their arrival.

Travellers from Austria, Estonia, Norway, Iceland and Thasos will be required to undergo a testing process before their arrival.


Travellers from Iceland, Italy and San Marino will be required to follow entry and quarantine rules as countries have been removed from Norway’s green list.

Liechtenstein will be included in the green list, therefore, travellers from this territory can now enter Norway restriction-free. Besides Liechtenstein, the following states also belong to Norway’s green list: Bulgaria, Greenland, Croatia, Latvia, Poland, Lithuania, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Germany, the Vatican City State and Austria.

Faroe Islands, Greece, Ireland, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco and Portugal, are on Norway’s red list now.

The following archipelagos are in the dark red category:

  • Corsica, France
  • South Aegean Islands, Greece
  • Sardinia, Italy
  • Azores, Portugal
  • Ionian Islands, Greece
  • Canary Islands, Spain
  • Balearic Islands, Spain
  • Crete, Greece


Italy will now recognise the COVID-19 Certificates issued by five countries outside the European Union: United States, Canada, Israel, Japan, United Kingdom.

This means that arrivals from the US, Canada, Israel, and Japan will no longer be subject to Italy’s quarantine requirement. This rule, however, does not apply to persons arriving from the United Kingdom. UK holidaymakers are required to present a pre-departure Coronavirus test result taken within 48 before arrival in Italy as well as undergo a second COVID-19 test at the end of the self-isolation period.


Czechia has added Andorra to its dark red category, imposing a double testing requirement for travellers arriving from this country from August 2.

Scroll to Top