Kosovo Plans to Apply for EU Membership in the Coming Days

Kosovo Pristina

Kosovo, which several EU countries don’t formally recognize, plans to formally submit an application to join the EU over the coming days.

Kosovo declared its independence from Serbia in 2008. Five EU members — Cyprus, Greece, Romania, Slovakia and Spain — still don’t recognize Kosovo’s independence.

The authorities of Kosovo explain that in this way they want to show a signal to European capitals about serious intentions for reforms.

“The EU will not be a complete project without the Western Balkans,” said the deputy prime minister of the partially recognized Kosovo, Bersnik Bislimi. Kosovo hopes to become a member of the European Union by 2030.


Read Previous

Airbnb to Stop Unauthorized Parties over New Year’s Eve

Read Next

London Weathear: Snow and Freezing Fog Cause Travel Disruption