Update: Countries Ground Boeing 737 Max 8

Boeing 737 Max 8

Ireland and Austria are the latest countries to ground Boeing 737 Max 8 jets following the crash of an Ethiopian Airlines plane on Sunday. 

Here is a list of airlines and countries that have grounded the aircraft so far:

  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Brazil
  • Cayman Islands
  • China
  • Ethiopia
  • France
  • Germany
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Mexico
  • Norway
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Turkey
  • United Kingdom

Boeing, however, has said it has no reason to pull the popular aircraft from the skies. It doesn’t intend to issue any new recommendations about the aircraft to its customers. 

Boeing had been developing a flight control software enhancement for several months after the Lion Air Flight 610 disaster last year. The 737 Max 8 plane crashed into the sea off Indonesia and killed all 189 on board.

Airlines that use the 737 Max 8:

  • Air Canada
  • Flydubai 
  • Air Italy
  • S7
  • Southwest Airlines
  • Fiji Airways
  • WestJet 
  • LOT Polish Airlines 
  • American Airlines
  • Jet Airways 
  • Corendon Airlines
  • Mauritania Airlines
  • Malindo Air
  • Sunwing Airlines
  • Aviation Capital Group
  • Gecas Travel Services
  • Enter Air

Read Previous

Meet United Airlines’ New Meetings Portal, Available on United Jetstream

Read Next

Abu Dhabi’s Opulent Presidential Palace Opens Up for the Public